Wednesday, June 4, 2014

FIFA History - World Cup 2014

FIFA World Cup History

The first FIFA World Cup was held in 1930, It was introduced by FIFA president Jules Rimet when he decided to stage an international football tournament. The inaugural edition, held in Uruguay in 1930 from 13 july to 30 julu 1930, only 13 teams took part in the final tournament who were invited by the organization. Since then, the FIFA World Cup has experienced successive expansions and format remodeling to its current 32-team final tournament preceded by a two-year qualifying process, involving almost 200 teams from all over the world.
 In 1930 FIFA World Cup was inaugurated as the world championship for men's national association football teams.  FIFA, football's international governing body, selected Uruguay as host nation because the country was celebrating the centenary of its first constitution, and at the 1928 Summer Olympics Uruguay national football team managed successfully to retain their football title. All  the FIFA matches were played in the capital  of Uruguayan, Montevideo, the majority at the Estadio Centenario, which was built for the tournament.
Thirteen teams entered in the tournament (seven from South America, four from Europe, and two from North America). Few European teams chose to participate because of the difficulty of travelling to South America. The teams were divided into four groups, with the winner of each group progressing to the semi-finals. The first two World Cup matches took place simultaneously, and were won by France and the United States, who defeated Mexico 4–1 and Belgium 3–0, respectively. Lucien Laurent of France scored the first goal in World Cup history, while American goalkeeper Jimmy Douglas posted the first official "clean sheet" in the tournament. Argentina, Uruguay, United States and Yugoslavia each won their respective groups to qualify for the semi-finals. In the final, hosts and pre-tournament favorites Uruguay defeated Argentina 4–2 in front of crowd approx 93,000 people, and became the first nation to win the FIFA World Cup.

Earlier International Football competitions

The very first international football match was played at Glasgow in 1872. England and Scotland played in this competition first,although at this stage also the sport(Football)  was rarely played outside Great Britain.
However by 1900 the sport had gained ground all around the world and national football associations were being founded. The first official international match outside of the British Isles was played between Uruguay and Argentina in Montevideo on July 1902. Actually FIFA was founded in Paris on 22 May 1904 after comprising football associations from France, Belgium, Denmark, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland, with Germany pledging to join. (France and Belgium played their first international match against each other earlier in month)

The Time was passing and football was increasing its popularity, it was contested as an IOC-recognized Olympic sport at the 1900 and 1904 Summer Olympics, as well as at the 1906 Intercalated Games, before becoming an official FIFA-supervised Olympic competition at the 1908 Summer Olympics. England's Football Association Organized the event and it was only for amateur players and was regarded suspiciously as a show rather than a competition. The England national amateur football team won the event in both 1908 and 1912. After that FIFA made attempt to organize an international football tournament between nations outside of the Olympic framework in 1906 which was held at Switzerland. These were very early days for international football and the official history of FIFA describes that the competition was being  a failure.
With the Olympic event continuing to be contested only between amateur teams, competitions involving professional teams also started to appear. The Torneo Internazionale Stampa Sportiva, held in Turin, Italy in 1908, was one of the first and the following year Sir Thomas Lipton organized the Sir Thomas Lipton Trophy. Both tournaments were contested between individual clubs (not national teams), each one of which represented an entire nation. For this reason, neither was really a direct forerunner of the World Cup, but notwithstanding that, the Thomas Lipton Trophy is sometimes described as The First World Cup, at the expense of its less well-known Italian predecessor.

In 1914, FIFA agreed to recognize the Olympic tournament as a "world football championship for amateurs", and took responsibility for organizing the event. This led the way for the world's first intercontinental football competition, at the 1920 Summer Olympics, won by Belgium. Uruguay won the tournaments in 1924 and 1928.

Then in 1928 FIFA finally decided to stage their own international tournament. The 1932 Summer Olympics, held in Los Angeles, and football was not part of the Olympics due to the low popularity in the United States. FIFA president Jules Rimet thus decided and organized the inaugural World Cup tournament at Uruguay. From 1930 football started its journey and became popular year after year. Since then after every 4 year FIFA started its own international football tournament.

In 1942 due to the World War II, FIFA World Cup was cancelled.  For this event Germany officially applied to host the FIFA World Cup but all of the plans were cancelled before a host country was selected.
Again in 1946 the consequences of World War II affected FIFA World Cup and it was cancelled.
But after a gap of 8 years in 1950 FIFA competition was resumed again with a motive to unite all countries after World War II and was held at Brazil. Since then FIFA never stopped and the popularity of football increased as Fire.

List Of The Year And Countries FIFA Held

In 1954 FIFA World Cup was hosted by Switzerland.
In 1958 FIFA World Cup was hosted by Brazil.
In 1962 FIFA World Cup was hosted by Chile.
In 1966 FIFA World Cup was hosted by England.
In 1970 FIFA World Cup was hosted by Mexico.
In 1974 FIFA World Cup was hosted by West Germany.
In 1978 FIFA World Cup was hosted by Argentina.
In 1982 FIFA World Cup was hosted by Spain.
In 1986 FIFA World Cup was hosted by Mexico.
In 1990 FIFA World Cup was hosted by Italy.
In 1994 FIFA World Cup was hosted by USA.
In 1998 FIFA World Cup was hosted by France.
In 2002 FIFA World Cup was hosted jointly by South Korea and Japan.
In 2006 FIFA World Cup was hosted by Germany.
In 2010 FIFA World Cup was hosted by South Africa.
And In 2014 FIFA World Cup is hosted by Brazil.
For more Information on FIFA World Cup 2014 matches, Ticketing, Groups and lot more Visit:

No comments:

Post a Comment